top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKirsten

Pompom, Can You Do The Pompom ♬

Updated: Jan 22, 2019

Is there even such a thing as too many pompoms? I doubt it. Check out how I transformed a plain jane pillow into a pompom beauty.



**SIDE NOTE: Okay so I LOVE to go thrifting. I can find all types of goodies. If you are new to thrifting and want to get a few ideas on how to grab some goodies like these pillows, take a look here to find what you need! Happy thrifting!**


So walking through the thrift store, I was honestly just looking for some decent lightly used pillows so I could make new covers to transform the couch (it's in desperate need of some color). When I stumbled upon these beauties I knew I had to make the purchase. They matched, no stains, no bad smells, perfectly plump, and they had a zipper cover! Perfect! Not bad for $3 a piece.





Let's get down to business. Here is a step-by-step guide for making a pompom pillow.


THE POMPOMS

Supplies:

Yarn

Scissors

Pompom maker - I invested in this one but there are better ones out there. If you are on a budget like me, the one I bought will do just fine.



1. Wrap the yarn around the open pompom makers. There should be instructions on the packaging. The most important thing to remember during this step is when you think you've wrapped enough, wrap some more! The more you do it, the fluffier the pompom. I like my pompoms how I like my puppies--FLUFFY!


2. Clip shut and cut.


3. Tie a string around the middle. Remove the pompom maker and here's your lil' guy.


4. Trim the pompom. I would get a little carried away during this step but it's so fun to do. Be sure to fluff up the pompom every once in a while so it turns out even.

Anyone else agree that there needs to be a ball pit full of these? (Adding this to the list of my 26th birthday party ideas.)



THE PILLOW

Supplies:

Needle

Thread - I used white.

Marker - Or something to mark the fabric where you will sew the pompom.



1. Mark where you want them to go. Or just sew willy nilly and I'm sure it will look great! A few ideas I had were to sew a ton into the middle to make one big poof, make a shape like a heart, stripes down the front, or gradient (ombre) pompoms. In the end I just went with the polka-dot look.


2. Sew them on! *TIP: Be sure to cross over the top in all directions when sewing these on. This will ensure the pompom won't fall apart.*


I absolutely loved how the pillow turned out! I can't wait to get started on the second one.



Now off to find more pompom projects!


Happy Crafting,

Kirsten

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TeachPlayLove

Kirsten Cherry​

bottom of page