top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKirsten

5 Things I LOVE About VIPKID

Updated: Feb 27, 2019


Watch my youtube video above or check out my Youtube Channel Here!


5 Things I LOVE About VIPKID


1. The Students

I absolutely LOVE all of my students. They are so cute, and if they are too old to be cute, they are really cool, and they love class. The best part is, you still get paid if they don't show up to class.


2. The Pay

VIPKID advertises their pay as $18-22/hour and I'll break it down for you:

  • Base pay per class

  • $1 incentive if the "finish type"of a class is: AS_SCHEDULED, STUDENT_NO_SHOW, STUDENT_IT_PROBLEM, or SYSTEM_PROBLEM

  • $0.50 if 30-44 classes are completed in a month

  • $1 if 45+ classes are completed in a month


Example:

  • $8 base pay

  • $1 incentive for the correct "finish type"

  • $1 incentive for completed 45+ classes each month

$10/class or $20/hour


Oh yeah, I didn't mention each class is under 30 minutes? Boo-ya.


One thing to note is VIPKID doesn't take any taxes out of your paycheck. This is something I'm going to have to figure out when tax season rolls around, so I'll keep ya'll posted.


3. The Flexibility

I love being able to wake up 20 minutes before class starts, throw on a nice shirt, comb my hair, splash my face with some water, and get started.


Don't tell anyone, but sometimes I teach in my pajama pants. Don't even worry about it ... everyone does it. It's not like we are doing jumping jacks. You're not going to see my lowers.


Another thing that goes along with the flexibility is being able to teach anywhere as long as you have a decent internet connection. I was visiting my family the entire month of November and I was able to teach from their computer. I brought the bare minimum and used a fun balloon reward. I even still use that reward when teaching from home. The students love it!


The biggest reason I applied to teach with VIPKID is the ability to teach in the morning before my toddler wakes up. I teach 2 hours each morning, then spend the rest of my day with Blair as a stay-at-home mom. It's the best!


4. The Simplicity

thee You don't have to write any lesson plans, they are already prepared for you. When a parent books a class, you get to view the materials for that class in a powerpoint type form and be ready to teach within 5-10 minutes!


Another thing that has to do with the simplicity is the start-up cost. I basically had a $20 start-up cost, but I didn't have to spend that money. I have my own laptop, I already had a mouse, I teach with my Apple earphones (the ones that came with my cellphone!). I basically had all of it. I had to get $5 ethernet cord, and some decorations at the dollar store to make my classroom more fun and comfortable.


If you have all of the technology, it will probably be a $0 start-up cost.


5. Sharing my Experiences

My favorite part of being a VIPKID teacher is sharing my experience.


Side note: I literally just put my phone down after giving another teacher advice on canceling a class due to illness. (SPOILER: It's not the end of the world, you just need to know the rules!)


I love teaching these students and any chance I get to share what I do makes me happy! I share what I love in hopes someone else will find out they love it too!


I also love meeting other VIPKID teachers, I have found them through the VIPKID website, Facebook, and LinkedIn. It is important to have teachers to help mentor you or to bounce ideas off of.


If you are interested in applying, click the link here. If you have already applied, add my referral code "KIRST0052" so I can help you along in your journey.


Happy Teaching!


Kirsten


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TeachPlayLove

Kirsten Cherry​

bottom of page